The Sound of Thunder

Book 2 in the Courtney Series

The Sound of Thunder 'The game was war. The prize was a land. The penalty of defeat was death. . .' The Sound of Thunder is an epic of the Anglo-Boer War and the peace which followed.

The Sound of Thunder Book Cover BUY NOW

In the same way Sean saw it coming, he recognised it as the murderous rage which before had nearly killed a man, but still he could not prepare himself. And then it was upon him and the roaring filled his head.

Some will win. And some will lose.

Sean Courtney returns from the African wilds to find war has been declared between the British Empire and the Transvaal Republic. Not only that, but a rivalry is growing between the cruel, obsessive son who bears his name, and his elder, secret son, whom he cherishes deeply.

The Boer War will take from Sean, in both blood and gold, but the conflict and its consequences will also offer him everything a man could want. Sean must now decide: with both sons in his life, is he willing to pay the price he needs to keep them?

A Courtney Series adventure – Book 2 in the When the Lion Feeds trilogy.


A violent saga-type story set on Boer War South Africa and told with vigour and enthusiasm, the author of When the Lion Feeds spins a fine tale.
Evening Standard
A highly readable novel of history and adventure ... Wilbur Smith has a sense of character too.
Books and Bookmen
An extravagant and vigorous novel ... its many pages provide constantly changing incidents and a gallery of memorable portraits.
Liverpool Daily Post
Read a sample Listen to a sample
Publication date ISBN Format RRP
05/01/2018 9781499860085 Paperback $16
See all books

Explore Books in This Series

The 'Courtney' novels trace the fortunes, and misfortunes, of this sprawling, ambitious family, from the dawn of the eighteenth century to the late twentieth century.