The Egyptian Series

River God The Seventh Scroll Warlock The Quest Desert God Pharoh

The 'Egyptian' novels are The Quest, and River God, The Seventh Scroll and Warlock. Set in the land of the ancient Pharaohs, this quartet vividly describes ancient Egypt and has a cast of unforgettable characters. Also see the 'family trees' and information about the major characters, as well as a map of Egypt relating to the Warlock era. These three earlier novels will be republished with new cover art (below).

Praise for the 'Egyptian' Novels

River God

  • "A grand tale of intrigue, deception, true love and exile." – Denver Post
  • "An epic ... Smith joins the ranks of the grand masters of twentieth-century novels." – Tulsa World
  • "A rich, compelling look back in time [to] when history and myth intermingled." – San Francisco Chronicle

The Seventh Scroll

  • "This old-fashioned adventure novel keeps the reader enthralled all the way to its very exciting conclusion." – The Washington Post Book World
  • "A heady mix of exotic adventure, romance, and Egyptology. Smith is a master." – Publishers Weekly


  • "Smith brings to life every colorful detail in the world of Egypt so much so you can almost feel the heat and taste the dust as the narrative builds to cracking pace." – Irish News
  • "This most recent novel by a master storyteller is resplendent with all the power and pageantry of Egypt, the center of civilization of the ancient world." – Library Journal
  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter